h1

FINDING CUSTOMERS ON SOCIAL NETWORKS

March 29, 2016

My wife thinks I am a Facebook junkie. I do spend about 20 minutes a day on Facebook, usually procrastinating  between work projects ( I prefer calling it, taking a break). But I was curious what would move me to “junkie” status. Checking Facebook numbers, I discovered 20+ minutes a day is the global average, but US consumers spend 40 minutes on Facebook per day. I am not even close to being a junkie!

But here’s your marketing question for the week: How can you connect with your customers on social networks? Do you know where they hang out online? Which social networks do they spend time on? Back to one of my popular themes, do research!

Like all marketing, the key to social media is knowing your customers. In short, start by identifying your ideal customer using surveys and research (I can help). Then find them with guest blogging opportunities, targeted ads on social platforms and engagement with powerful search tools on social networking sites. Finally, incentivize them to visit your website and get to know you and your business better.

I grabbed these tips from a recent article “How to Research and Locate Your Audience Using Social Media” by Rich Brooks for Social Media Examiner. It was a good, short read. I would strongly recommend reading it. Below is a link to the story, but a word of caution! If you sign up for any of their newsletters you will be overwhelmed with emails (I subscribe to dozens of newsletters for my blog so this is not an issue for me). They also love retargeting.

If you like, you can simply email me and I will send you a PDF of the story. Here’s a link to the story.

Leave a Reply

