h1

DOES MOTHER STILL KNOW BEST?

May 15, 2014

I hope everyone had a wonderful Mother’s Day last weekend. Continuing my review of the Millennials market (people 14 to 33 years old) few in is group think Mother knows best anymore. Only 1 out of 5 said they use and are brand-loyal to the same brands as their parents. A larger percentage of men than women think Mother knows best: 27% of men, compared to 12% of women. Looking more deeply at survey answers:

  • I’m brand loyal and use the same brands as my parents – 20%
  • I use many of the same brands my parents use, but not all – 43%
  • I use a few of the same brands as my parents – 26%
  • I use different brands than my parents – 11%

The marketing lesson here, you can’t count on continued loyalty. You need to constantly be growing and reaching out to new markets. And you’d better be protecting your reputation.  Outside of financial factors, a business found to have bad business practices is the number one reason that Millennials will switch brands.

Leave a Reply

