h1

THE MULTI-MILLION DOLLAR FAILURE

October 31, 2013

Any business that has launched a website can have empathy for the government with its healthcare site launch. Of course, being the government, no one really knows the cost of this disaster. The Washington Post (Fact Checker Column) believes that “a conservative figure would be $70 million. A more modest figure would be $125 million to $150 million. Or one could embrace the entire project, as outlined by GAO, and declare that it is at least $350 million.” I’ve also heard estimates that go up to a half a billion dollars!

Now, I’m trying to remain positive since I believe that health care for all is good, but really, how the heck can any website cost millions and not work?

Being in the business of developing websites, I am constantly shocked at how much people are paying for website development. Recently I reviewed an RFP for a destination marketing organization that had a $45,000 budget for updating their site. Are you kidding me? As I point out in my book, most businesses are paying far too much for a website. The goal should be to spend less creating your site and more marketing it so people will find it! Sure, if you are developing a significant e-commerce site you will need very sophisticated back-end software.

This year, I have launched several websites for under $2,000. I even updated and revised a very complicated website for under $3,000. In the case of one website that had 4,000 pages of information we were able to use an international resource and re-design it into WordPress for less than $1,000.

If you are thinking of creating a new website or updating an old one, contact me and let me share (no cost or obligation) some options.

Leave a Reply

